In line with the upcoming search for the Annual Rice Achievers Awards (RAA) 2017, the Regional Technical Working Group (RTWG) convened at the Department of Agriculture-Regional Field Office, Conference Hall on April 17, 2018 to prepare and share updates related with the said activity.

The meeting aims to discuss the tasks of the members of the RTWG and activities to be undertaken during the entire duration of the search for the outstanding local government Unit (LGU) provinces, municipalities/cities, Irrigators’ Associations (IAs), Small Water Impounding Systems Associations (SWISAs), Agricultural Extension Workers (AEWs) and Local Farmer Technician (LFT). The revised Regional Supplemental Guidelines on the RAA was also presented for the members to be informed of the minor changes in the guideline specifically in the search and selection of the RAAs.

The Department of Agricultures’ Regional Search Committee was tasked to search and select one (1) outstanding municipality/city, one (1) outstanding LFT and 15 outstanding AEWs. Ms. Virginia Tapat, OIC-Field Operations Division Officer said that the Region is lucky to be given a 15 slots for the outstanding AEWs because in the previous years, we were only given 13 slots. Also, winners from the above mentioned categories for two consecutive years are disqualified for nomination to give chance for the others to join the search.

In line with these, a technical presentation was scheduled on April 24-25, 2018. Municipal Agriculturist of Municipalities who will join the search will present their accomplishments and collective efforts in paving ways towards improving the rice industry and attaining the goal for rice sufficiency. Members of the National Technical Working Group (NTWG) and RTWG will serve as panel during the presentations.

Moreover, the RAA-NTWG will be the once to select the outstanding Province, outstanding SWISAs, and outstanding IAs based on the criteria set by the NTWG and the respective evaluators for the said categories.//mjmaguide